Work on the church began after the priory’s foundation in around 1230, once the monks had built their accommodation.
It was originally conceived as an elongated rectangle with a chapel or sacristy on the north side. As far as we know the church remained much as it was until the fifteenth century when records of repairs and additions began to appear. The Frasers of Lovat, local benefactors, built the Chapel of the Holy Cross around 1416 and continued to make repairs throughout the century.
Please click on the photo for further fascinating information.